i Combat AIDS Now! (iCAN) Project

The iCAN Project serves to create a seamless process for HIV prevention, care, and treatment among HIV-positive African-American men who have sex with men (MSM) and high-risk HIV-negative African-American MSM and heterosexual women, ages 18-60, in the Jackson, MS, metropolitan statistical area. As a result, by the end of the five-year project period, iCAN will achieve the following goals and objectives:

  • Increase access to and utilization of targeted HIV testing services among high-risk African-American MSM and heterosexual women who are aware of their risk
  • Increase access to and utilization of high-impact HIV prevention, behavioral and essential support services offered by MBK, Open Arms Healthcare Center, Mississippi In Action, and Hinds Behavioral Health Services
  • Convene a Consumer Advisory Board to meet on a quarterly basis to develop and maintain program services, such as appropriate venues to distribute condoms
  • Increase in high-risk HIV-negative persons who are referred to Pre-Exposure Prophylaxis (PrEP) and/or Post-Exposure Prophylaxis (PEP), as appropriate
  • Increase in high-risk HIV-negative persons who receive recommended prevention and essential support services facilitated through trained Patient Navigators
  • Link HIV-positive persons to HIV care, at least 90% of newly diagnosed, and to refer them to partner services

This project is funded by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention under the funding announcement PS15-1502.

Project Staff:

Project Coordinator:
Gerald Gibson
(601) 898-0000 Ext. 106
ggibson@mbk-inc.org

Outreach Specialist:
Aubrey Humphrey
(601) 898-0000 Ext. 108
ahumphrey@mbk-inc.org

Program Assistants:
Rashina Lewis
(769) 216-2455
alewis@mbk-inc.org

Terricha Phillips
(769) 216-2455
tphillips@mbk-inc.org

Counselor/Testers:
Teayaka Jones
(601) 500-7660
tjones@mbk-inc.org

Monica Smith
(601) 500-7660
msmith@oahcc.org